Home About Us Did You Know? Events Inductees Nomination Forms Sponsors Contact Us


Since 2011, the Board of Directors has honored fifteen former members for their meritorious service during their years with the Hall of Fame. The twelve former members previously receiving EMERITUS recognition are BILL BASILIUS, FRED BRIGGS, TOM COLE, DICK DALY, LEN JASINSKI, JOAN LEVEQUE, JIM MASSAR, GERALD MOORE, ERNIE MYERS, NICK PAPPADAKIS, PHIL PIERSON, JIM RUTHERFORD, CATHY SNYDER, JERRY TOPOLINSKI, AND TOM YEOTIS.

EMERITUS status is granted to former members of GFASHOF Board of Directors recognizing their active participation and contributions in the activities and leadership of the organization that exceed what may be considered normal and traditional.

This year the Board of Directors has voted to accord EMERITUS status to BOB BUREK and BILL TROSKO. These gentlemen provided extraordinary leadership over an extended period of time, in a variety of capacities that enabled the organization to successfully continue their mission of honoring individuals and teams for remarkable achievement in athletics.

BOB BUREK served loyally as a Board Member for 14 years (2005 – 2018). He served as Vice-President for 2 years and President for 2 years. He also served on the Banquet Committee as well as the Constitution and By-laws and Ticket Committees.

DR. BUREK worked meticulously and diligently in many informal roles that are too numerous to list. He was always on call and willing to assist in any way that he could.

BILL TROSKO served faithfully as a Board Member for 30 years (1984-2013). Mr. Trosko served as Vice-President for 4 years and President for 2 years. He also effectively served in many Board capacities and committee assignments.

MR. TROSKO could always be called upon to assist in any capacity that was needed for the betterment of The Greater Flint Area Sports Hall of Fame.

All EMERITUS selections are permanently listed in the annual induction banquet souvenir booklet and on the GFASHOF website (www.GFASHOF.org)